Posted in Uncategorized

Unit 13 (Final Major Project) – Diary 16/03/2017

16th March 2017

S – Continue revising the source from yesterday

M – Write 300 words talking about the armour they wore and their defense

A – I have already looked at this source and just need to get the last bit of information

R – The time limit will be much shorter than yesterday as I need to get the last piece of information from the source

T – 09:20am – 09:40am

I exceeded the task and got all the information I needed from the type of armour the Vikings wore; the wealthiest Vikings wearing mail and reindeer hide; the shield the Vikings used in battle – from the circular shield that is commonly documented in Viking books, to the kite shaped shield that were used to protect their legs in battle. This source still has some useful information that could be used for my story, but I will look at this another time, maybe after I get other research to help with the progression of my book. I will give myself a tip for next time, which is not to spend too much time on one sword.

S – Find a new research source that talks about the Vikings eating habits and what foods may be presented at a feast

M – I will find two sources which talk about the different foods the Vikings may have during a meal/feast

A – I have compared two sources before in other projects and also in this project to compare the authenticity as some sources lie – especially sources to do with the Vikings

R – As I have to compare two of my favourite sources, it might be a length process, so I will give myself a larger time frame than normal and hope to finish much earlier

T – 10:10am – 11:30am

S – Begin to come up with the characters of the book

M – Come up with at least characters, with a small biography talking about their appearance and their roles within their clan

A – For my FMP last year I had to create characters and come up with the biography, so doing this task will be quite simple due to already having some knowledge how to do this task

R – I will give myself a lengthy time limit as I want to get my characters perfect

T – 13:15pm – 14:30pm

I was not aware we had a tutorial today, meaning I could not complete this task within the time limit I set myself. I should of been aware that we had a tutorial as we have one every week, so I need to mark this down for next time. Meanwhile, what I am going to do within the next hour is to continue with this S.M.A.R.T target.

S – Begin to come up with the characters of the book

M – Come up with at least 5 character names that are related to old norse

A – For my FMP last year I had to create characters and come up with the biography, so doing this task will be quite simple due to already having some knowledge how to do this task

R – I will give myself a lengthy time limit as I want to get my characters perfect

T – 14:55pm – 16:00pm

This task was very successful and managed to be completed much earlier than anticipated. Looking at how early I finished this task I think when I do tasks in the future I will shorten the time frame so I have enough time to do other parts of the project

Leave a Reply

