Posted in Unit 13 (Final Major Project)

Unit 13 – Secondary Research – Audience

In any form of media, be it a game or a book- you need to find out the demographic of your audience. You need to find out what your audience likes and what you could include to bring in another audience.

I need to know who my audience is. With help from this website I will be able to determine who my audience is. The first point: Isolate the audience/or group of people your book will appeal too. As my book is to do with a Viking leader following Viking history that was documented would attract the history audience – and those who are very interested in the Vikings (like me). My book will also include fantasy aspects (the existence of elves and dwarves; the pagan gods; sorcery by norse women/men; beserkers…etc) this would attract fantasy fans, mostly those who loved Tolkien’s books The Hobbit and Lord Of The Rings as his books were based off of norse mythology.

Second point: Pin point what is special about your books. I say my book is very unique as I have never seen books – pagan books – that follow what happened in Viking history. My book will also contain a small romance, to pull in the audience who enjoys romance – I want to get as much audience for this book as possible.

This website was very helpful as it made you breakdown your story and think about which audiences your story will attract. So from this helpful website, my book will be aimed at: history lovers – those more attracted to old norse; fantasy lovers, as I will be including that of magic and mythical beings and romance lovers who want to see the story of two people falling in love. I am very happy with the information I have found out.

There are many different ways in which you can read books, the most popular being e-books and printed books. However, as I do not have enough time to create both, I will have to find out which media is most popular amongst book readers. 77.9% of people who took this poll (which was out of 1553) preferred the printed books over e-books – or other (I don’t know what the other may be). So I decided to ask people this same question on Facebook, the majority also voting for the physical copy – some did vote for e-book though, however.

There are many reasons why people would rather have a printed copy of a book to an e-book. One of the biggest reasons is e-books can cause your eyes to strain as they are electronic, meaning you have to take a break every 1 hour to make sure your eyes don’t hurt. However, with printed books you can get immersed into the story forever what the horrible strain on your eyes the screen gives you.

But how popular is historical fiction? If my book was ever to get published, would I get a large audience or would it be small? It turns out historical fiction is one of the most popular fiction genres on the market today. Why historical fiction is so popular is due to human nature: being curious about the past. Most of these historical fiction books are based on an era, for example The Last Kingdom is based on the Viking/Anglo-Saxon era, while The Other Boleyn Girl is based off the Tudor era, along with Mary Boleyn, sister of Anne Boleyn (Wife of Henry VIII).

Though historical fiction is popular, it seems books based on the Viking era are scarced. The most popular book, based solely on the Norsemen – and Anglo-Saxons – was The Last Kingdom. Doing more research, it turns out other historical fiction books, to do with our fearful Vikings, seem to mostly consist of sagas or tales to do with the Norsemen. As it seems most books are sagas or tales, it seems like a good thing that I am creating a novel, with my own characters and story lines, but still following historical events and including historical figures (King Alfred Of Wessex, King Alle Of Northumbria, Ragnar Lodbrok, Ivar The Boneless, Bjorn Ironsides, Sigurd Snake-Eye, Aslaug…etc)

What I never considered was the possibilty of which gender may prefer this book. Yes, any gender can read a book they want, but it did pique my interest. So I decided to do some digging. This blog found a survey, asking both men and women if they liked historical fiction and why they like this genre; it was quite outstanding.

What this survey asked the male and female group was “which proportion of historical fiction books do you read?”. 13.07% of males who took the survey read only exclusively historical fiction, while their female counterparts are close behind with only 11.88% reading just historical fiction novels; not a big difference. But then we look at the results for the 50% – 75% and see that women dominate the men in reading more historical fiction; 29.15% of men read mostly historical fiction, but compared to women with a staggering 38.44% reading majority historical fiction. It definitely proves that women are the biggest demographic who may read my book.

Within this same survey, the people who were taking part were asked “What historical time periods do you read?” Now, what I didn’t expect was a direct link to my project in anyway or form that combines both gender to my book. One of the top three choices for men was in fact historical fiction books during 3000 B.C – 1000 A.D. My book is based around late 800 A.D to mid 900 A.D so that will definitely get the male historical fiction book readers interested in my book.

Leave a Reply

